Richard Burton in Lego. 21st January 2013

Dear Sarah,

You’re missing out on snow apparently. It doesn’t look much fun to me. Mum says it’s the rubbish stuff that you can’t make a decent snowman with. Whether that means she’s been outside, in her kaftan, attempting to make a snowman is unclear, but I’d like to imagine it anyway.

Nice and warm here. Not too hot with endless, impossibly blue skies. I’m still not used to having no clouds. I get a bit agoraphobic and nervy; like there’s nothing between me and a dreadful, great expanse of emptiness. It’s almost as bad as having no net curtains.(Horror!)

Something dreadful happened the other day. This is the main reason why I haven’t really been able to write on here for a while. I had the unfortunate experience of being near someone who was having a fatal aneurysm .  I say ‘unfortunate experience’, but I’m quite aware that it was infinitely more unfortunate for her.  That poor lady, she had no idea that her light was about to be extinguished. She sounded so afraid; crying and calling out in terror and panic. It took all I had  not to just to run away, it was almost unbearable to hear her fear. I have imagined what it might have been like for you, but actually hearing someone experience the beginning of the end of their life was just a bit too much.

The worse thing is that you just can’t get those appalling sights and sounds out of your head. I really don’t want to think of you like that, or be reminded of what happened. It makes it so much harder to think of you without being upset, and I don’t want to avoid thinking about you, ever. For a while it was difficult, but you’re back where you should be now. The goddess of glowsticks and glitterballs. Forever glowing and glittering.

So what have I been up to today? Well, I have created the Richard Burton in Lego Collection, for your immense delight, of course. Dan bought me his diaries for Christmas and they are very entertaining. Full of bitching and drinking and diamonds the size of coconuts. Reading about their exploits make me feel much better about my stupid life, for some reason.

Here’s Rich’s career in bricks just for you:

Who’s Afraid Of Virginia Woolf? 1966. Image

‘Oh good grief! Don’t you know anything?’

dump

Image

‘I hope that was an empty bottle, George! You can’t afford to waste good liquor, not on YOUR salary!’

strangle

The Medusa Touch. 1978.SyntekExifImageTitle

‘I am the man with the power to create catastrophe.’

THE MEDUSA TOUCH 9b

The Robe. 1953.SyntekExifImageTitle

‘Oh, I remember them perfectly. I’d cut my finger, and I cried. And then you took the dagger and cut your own finger to show that it didn’t really hurt, and then you kissed me, and I stopped crying – and then you promised to marry me when we grew up.’

robe rich jean

Cleopatra. 1963.SyntekExifImageTitle

‘And I find what you’re wearing most becoming. Greek, isn’t it?’

cleo

1984. 1984

SyntekExifImageTitle

‘If you want a vision of the future, Winston, imagine a boot stamping on a human face forever.

burton1984

On a Yacht off the Island of Ischia. 1962.

SyntekExifImageTitle

taylorburton yacht

 

I may have made Richard a little too buff here… I’m sure he wouldn’t mind. He is also wearing a Borat mankini which he may have not been quite so happy about. Whatevs!

Lots of Love

Splodge.

x

About oddboggle

Here are the letters I write to Sarah, aka Sarge, who will be sadly missed but never forgotten.
This entry was posted in Letters to Sarah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

